The Foyle Valley Railway Museum was opened in 1989 by Derry City Council in conjunction with the North West of Ireland Railway Society to tell the story of Derry’s railways.
Today Derry is serviced by one railway line which terminates at the Waterside Station, but in 1900 four separate rail networks operated in and out of the City.
These networks connected Derry to Dublin, Belfast and north and south Donegal with the latter trains running on a narrow-gauge system. The trains were linked across the River Foyle by the lower deck of the Craigavon bridge, whilst traffic used the top deck. The museum is located half a mile from the bridge, on the Cityside at the Letterkenny Road.
The fascinating stories of the rise and fall of the railways in Derry are told in the museum through exhibitions of memorabilia, including some actual trains. Visitors can even take the opportunity to take a ride on a real County Donegal Railway diesel train along a two-mile stretch of track alongside the River Foyle. The grounds of the museum are also adjacent to a Riverside park and picnic area.